Penn West Conference

Mission Grant Committee Report 2023-2024

The Mission Grant Committee's job is to award grants to the churches of the Penn West Conference. The Committee consists of a representative from our six Associations, and includes Conference Staff, (David Ackerman, and Diane Fox), our Moderator, (George Keppel), And Assistant Moderator (David Mears).

The grants are awarded in one of the following categories:

Reaching Out-Funds are available for new or ongoing ministries that help alleviate human need and suffering. It also strengthens the relationships and visibility through services to the community. Maximum request \$1,500.

Strengthening the Church-Funds are available to support church growth and development within the Conference. Maximum request \$1,500

Operational Support- Funds are available to support local churches in purchasing, updating, maintaining, replacing, or repairing facility and equipment. This provides continuity of mission to the church's community. Maximum request \$1,000.

If awarded a grant, a final report will be due in September of that year.

These grants are funded by the Kermit Thomas bequest, the Corman Fund, Neighbors in Need, and Strengthen the Church. Grants will also be funded by Caring for Churches, and the Caring for Clergy campaign. The Committee thanks all of these donors for their generosity.

This year, churches received \$42,236.00 in grant monies. This is the second highest amount received by the churches. All churches that applied received an award.

Applications for 2024 are found on the PWC's website and are due October 1, 2024. On October 14, the committee will meet to give the awards. Awards will be announced on November 1, 2024. New this year, the award ceremony will not be held at the conference. Members of the committee and volunteers from each association will present the awards at the local church.

Robert Kruel, Joseph Beer and Mary Hendricks have completed their terms. Thank you for serving! A special thank you to Mary for designing our flyer!

Their replacements will be chosen by their Associations, and submitted to the Annual Meeting for approval.

If you have questions about these grants, please call Diane Fox at the Conference Office.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jill Marie (Clarion) Mary Hendricks (Juniata) Robert Kruel (Westmoreland) Alice Niebauer (Erie) Jon Colburn (Pittsburgh) Joseph Beer (Somerset)